Interview with Dene Grigar

” My own mother was a painter who worked in oils. She would never say that the canvas and the paints she used were separate from the art of oil painting. They were her medium. I feel that the same way about my computer and HTML/CSS or PhotoShop, etc. The computer does not “help” me––it is what I do.”

electronicliteraturereview

ELR: Dene Grigar, you have been working in the field of media art and electronic literature since the mid-1990s. Could you tell us something about your background and how you became involved with electronic literature?

Dene Grigar:  Actually, it goes further back than that.  In fall 1991 I took a graduate course from the new faculty member, Nancy Kaplan*, who specialized in something called hypertext.  We studied books by George Landow and Jay David Bolter, explored software called Storyspace, and read afternoon: a story by Michael Joyce.  Having owned a Macintosh computer since 1986 for designing, I took to using it quite easily for writing––and reading.  Because of that course and my exposure to electronic literature, I began collecting works from Eastgate Systems’ inventory.  A part of my collection comes from those early purchases.

*Nancy was Stuart Moulthrop’s partner at the time; they have long since married.

ELR: You…

View original post 1,593 more words

Leave a Reply

